November 17, 2012; East Lansing, MI, USA; Michigan State Spartans wide receiver Aaron Burbridge (16) against the Northwestern Wildcats during the 2nd half at Spartan Stadium. Northwestern won 23-20. Mandatory Credit: Mike Carter-USA TODAY Sports

Michigan State's Aaron Burbridge named Biletnikoff candidate

Michigan State sophomore receiver Aaron Burbridge on Tuesday was named to the Fred Biletnikoff Award preseason watch list. The Biletnikoff Award is presented annually to the nation’s best wide receiver by The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc.

The Biletnikoff Award, named in honor of pro and college football hall of fame member Fred Biletnikoff, began in 1994. Biletnikoff was an All-American receiver at Florida State and an All-Pro with the Oakland Raiders. He played 14 years with Oakland from 1965 to 1978, which included 589 receptions for 8,974 yards and a Super Bowl XI victory and MVP honors.

The 6-foot-1, 195 pound Burbridge played in 11 games for the Spartans last season as a true freshman, with seven starts. He was named to Big Ten All-Freshman Team by and for his 364 total receiving yards and 29 receptions, which ranked him second among Big Ten freshmen. His eight receptions for 134 yards against Indiana made him the first true freshman in program history to record a 100-yard receiving game.

The Farmington Hills native has also been named one of five Big Ten offensive players to watch in 2013 by

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. will announce the ten semifinalists on Nov. 18, following the vote by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. The three finalists will also be decided by a vote, on Nov. 25 with the winner being announced on Dec. 12 on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN.

The Biletnikoff Award is part of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-period in the month of July:

Mon., July 8: Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award
Tue., July 9: Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy
Wed., July 10: Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award
Thu., July 11: Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy
Fri., July 12: Jim Thorpe Award
Mon., July 15: Butkus Award / Rotary Lombardi Award
Tue., July 16: Biletnikoff Award
Wed., July 17: Davey O’Brien Award
Thu., July 18: Doak Walker Award
Fri., July 19: Walter Camp Award

For more Michigan State sports conversation and updates follow us on Twitter @Spartan_Avenue and Like our Facebook page at Spartan Avenue.

Tags: Aaron Burbridge Football Fred Biletnikoff Award Michigan State Michigan State Football NCAA

comments powered by Disqus