Oct 27, 2012; Madison, WI, USA; Michigan State Spartans linebacker Max Bullough (40) during the game against the Wisconsin Badgers at Camp Randall Stadium. Michigan State defeated Wisconsin 16-13. Mandatory Credit: Jeff Hanisch-USA TODAY Sports

Michigan State's Max Bullough named to Butkus, Lombardi watch lists

Michigan State senior linebacker Max Bullough on Monday was named to the Dick Butkus Award and Vince Lombardi Award preseason watch lists. The Butkus Award is presented annually to nation’s best linebacker by the Butkus Foundation and the Lombardi Award to the nation’s best linemen or linebacker by the Rotary Club of Houston.

College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2013 member Percy Snow is the only Spartan to have won the Butkus and Lombardi Awards, having done so in 1989. Snow is one of only four players in college football history to win both awards in the same season.

The Butkus Award, named in honor of College and Pro Football Hall of fame linebacker Dick Butkus, began in 1985. Butkus played college football at Illinois from 1962 to 1964, receiving All-American honors in ’63 and ’64.

The Lombardi Award, named after legendary football coach Vince Lombardi, began in 1970. Lombardi played college football at Fordham University from 1933 to 1936, where he was a right guard in the Seven Blocks of Granite. He began his coaching career at his alma mater and ten joined Earl Blaik at West Point before leaving for the NFL.

Bullough will enter his third season as Michigan State’s starting linebacker. The 6-foot-3, 242 pound Bullough led the Spartans for the second-straight year with 111 tackles (51 solo, 60 assists), ranking him ninth in the Big Ten. He was also tied for ninth in the Big Ten for his 12.5 tackles for loss (45 yards).

Bullough has also been named to the Nagurski Trophy, Bednarik Award, Lott IMPACT Trophy preseason watch lists.

The Rotary Club of Houston will announce a list of semifinalists on Nov. 7 and the finalists on Nov. 21. The Lombardi winner will be presented on Dec. 11 at the Wortham Center in Houston, Texas.

The Vince Lombardi Award is part of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-period in the month of July:

Mon., July 8: Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award
Tue., July 9: Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy
Wed., July 10: Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award
Thu., July 11: Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy
Fri., July 12: Jim Thorpe Award
Mon., July 15: Butkus Award / Rotary Lombardi Award
Tue., July 16: Biletnikoff Award
Wed., July 17: Davey O’Brien Award
Thu., July 18: Doak Walker Award
Fri., July 19: Walter Camp Award

For more Michigan State sports conversation and updates follow us on Twitter @Spartan_Avenue and Like our Facebook page at Spartan Avenue.

Tags: Dick Butkus Award Football Max Bullough Michigan State Vince Lombardi Award

comments powered by Disqus